Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for December 10th, 2006

Google Finance

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

They are suppose to be announcing a big change this week. Perhaps as early as tomorrow morning (Monday). I have never ventured over there myself. There are those that have, and were not impressed when it launched back in March 2006.

Posted in Google, Google Finance | Leave a Comment »

Google advertises Firefox

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

Some places call it breaking news. I think it’s a great ad to have on your site. Or a great sponsor to have. I would love to have Firefox as a sponsor of this blog. Is this really breaking news though? I mean is Google now going to acquire Firefox? Now that would be breaking news in my opinion at least. Just to be advertising on the site, means someone paid some money to somebody and there you go.

Posted in Firefox, Google | Leave a Comment »

jott

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

Jott, seems like a very useful service. I mean, it seems nice to have your voice converted to a text message. 1jott.jpgNot all of us have those nice smartphone with a full keyboard to do text messages. I hope they have good luck in the new year.

Btw, it is the holidays, and glad to see allot of you in that hateful and sucking mood. I don’t mind because without hate and suck there is no love and no cool. 🙂

Posted in e-mail, jott, SMS, Startups, Voice to Text | 1 Comment »

Google Podcast

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

According to this, Google Base looks like it is inviting podcasters to upload their best. Why? This writer (Steve Rubel) is speculating that maybe they are now going into the podcast search engine market. Makes sense to me.

Technically Speaking, Google can find my podcasts – you are free to grab whatever you like.  It’s not like they aren’t linked on this page as well as in several posts of the past. I for one am not wasting my time trying to upload them to Google. I had issues trying a long time ago, and won’t waste another minute of my time there. If you want a copy of the 7 Minutes show or the Coffee show – the links are to the right.

Google, you can read, right? 🙂

Posted in 7 Minutes with Rex Dixon, Coffee with Rex Dixon, Google, Google Base, Podcast | 2 Comments »

MyBlogLog

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

MyBlogLog, has now added MySpace profile page support. I haven’t even been on my account in a few days. MySpace needs to fix their network infrastructure – MYBLOGLOGbig time. I know I have said that before, but the last few times I have been on there, I could barely get anything done.

I had a MyBlogLog account, but I think it was deleted as I was using the free version of it.  From what I remember, if you don’t “upgrade” you get deleted as a user. That’s fine by me, as I can’t use their script here anyways. If my account is still alive, then someone from MyBlogLog can contact me and I will check it out further.

Posted in MyBlogLog, MySpace | 1 Comment »

Gmail is still hot

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

The Gmail post from yesterday and the associated article on TechCrunch are still hot items. It’s kind of funny, as Michael (Arrington) nor Rex Dixon (as of yesterday) has an 1gmaillogo210x.jpginvite yet to try the new service out. I wonder who does? I mean, you’d think at least the TC crew or the GigaOm crew would get the invites. Who did Google invite? A bunch of developers in India or something?

If you have an invite to try this new beta service out, please drop a comment here. Let everyone know how you like it.

Posted in Gmail, Google | 1 Comment »

2006 was the explosion of the Social Web

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

Yes it was. We will all look back on 2006 as the year that the social web took off. 2007 looks to be a promising new year for Web 2.0 and beyond. News Corp buying MySpace, Google buying YouTube, and all the rest were instrumental in proving that the web economy is a viable and profitable one.

Not to mention that a game (Second Life) is making covers of traditional magazines or print media. Will Yahoo just plunk down that $1 billion in 2007 for Facebook so that Mark Zuckerberg can buy a closet full of suit jackets and open toed sandals?

Will 2007 be the year that Kevin Rose makes another $60 million while drinking beer in front of a camera on his couch for another diggnation episode? Will some other entrepreneur come along with even a faster way to download digital content such as movies and mp3’s?

If the RIAA gets it’s head on straight, it can also make a buck here. They just need not to be so greedy as the money for the music is all there. They just need patience. Rushing things to make that quick buck early, or basically raping a group of content creators – ie.. the musicians is NOT the thing to do. We all know p2p is here to stay, and the RIAA just needs to deal with it, and instead of taking more – they need to learn how to give back. Giving back will reap greater rewards in the end all.

The Web 2.0 or 2.1 going to 3.0 in 2007 is going to be a wild and fun time. What we talk about in December 2006 will be all but forgotten in December 2007.  Yes, this is all Technically Speaking!

Posted in 2007, digg, diggnation, Digital Downloads, digital music, Entrepreneur, Facebook, Google, independent musicians, Kevin Rose, Mark Zuckerberg, Music, music business, music industry, musicians, MySpace, News Corp, p2p, RIAA, Rupert Murdoch, Second Life, social media content, Social Networks, Startups, Technically Speaking, Web 2.0, Web 2.1, Web 3.0, Yahoo, You Tube, YouTube | Leave a Comment »

InCircles

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

InCircles, is a very interesting concept. You can chat and follow each other around the web is what I am gathering. 1incircles.gifSo basically you sign up, your friends sign up and you can all experience the web together. It is like combining social networking, chatting, and surfing all into one.

The official line says – “InCircles is a web based communciations application that uses state-of-the-art presence detection technology.” – There is more, but that is the first line, and the company appears to be just in the Alpha release stage.

Technically Speaking – Join early, get in on the fun.

Posted in InCircles, social media content, Social Networks, Startups, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

Maybe this is the aim of Second Life?

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

It appears that in China, there is something called 110cent.gifTencent which I am gathering is much like Second Life. Well according to this article, it appears that their currency called QQ is now taking off and people are actually buying things such as sex with it. No, not the virtual kind, well maybe, but the real kind. QQ is slowly deflating the real economy, and well, at least China can just put an end to it since they are a communist country. Just as Iran has blocked YouTube, China can take the game and send everyone home.

QQ is slowly replacing the real currency in China. Now, this sort of is maybe an indication of where Second Life wants to lead us. The money in there is maybe going to undermine the current economy and the Dollar vs the Swiss Franc or the Euro will not matter.

QQ and the millionaires of Second Life will be the new leaders of the world.  God help us all, then again, maybe these leaders will actually lead instead of follow.

Posted in China, QQ, Second Life, Tencent | 1 Comment »

Openkapow and Zudeo

Posted by rexdixon on December 10, 2006

3openkapow.pngOpenkapow, was again in the top of my aggregator this morning. I talked about them a bit back on Thursday with this article.

Zudeo1zudeo_download.png was the same this morning, and I talked about them back last Monday.

I think both services are going to be big hits. So please go visit them today! I would hate to see them show up say Wednesday again as a “new item” in my aggregator.

I’m starting to think that maybe there is a bit of money being handed over? Hey, I’m all for it, and I can report about Zudeo and Openkapow all day long if you want. As Cuba Gooding, Jr. said to Tom Cruise (isn’t he about world wide live?) — “Show me the Money!” Uhm, not QQ either, not Chinese! 🙂

Posted in openkapow, QQ, Tom Cruise, Zudeo | Leave a Comment »