Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for December 1st, 2006

SAR mission started for James Kim and Family

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

James KimAccording to the latest, it appears that this has now turned into a Search And Rescue (SAR) mission. The search is on going at this time for Senior CNET Editor James Kim and his family. They have not been seen since Saturday November 25th. They were last sighted in Portland, OR heading south that day. It also appears that multiple agencies, as well as federal, and state law enforcment officials areKati Kim searching remote backroads off of Oregon’s Highway 38 and Interstate 5. *Please see my earlier post here for any information that is left out*

The Kims were driving a 2005 silver Saab station wagon with California personalized plates of “DOESF.”

If you have any information leading to their location, please contact the SFPD atKim Family 415-558-5508 during normal business hours and at 415-553-1071 after-hours.

The Pacific Northwest call center for the case can be reached at 1-800-452-7888.

Folks – these are real people, a real family, and if ANYONE knows or has seen ANYTHING PLEASE report it to the numbers above and also the one for the detective in San Francisco in the last post.

Posted in James Kim, Missing Person Alert | 2 Comments »

GizmoWeb

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

gizmoGizmoWeb, is a new flash based service that will help you to make phone calls straight from you computer. Right now, it’s kind of like Skype from what I am seeing. BUT very soon, according to Web Worker Daily, they will have a web site up and running where you can just plug in a phone number and make that call.

I believe the best way to describe the project is that it’s a project that sipphoneSIPphone is undertaking? Technically Speaking, I can’t wait to see what 2007 is bringing all of us!

Posted in GizmoWeb, SIPphone, Skype, Technically Speaking, VOIP | Leave a Comment »

Free Music MP3 Downloads

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

sideloadSideload, that title line is straight from their title bar. I just like to listen to tunes and not worry about how the artist gets paid. I do however WANT the artist to get paid, but if there is a music web site setup – “Shouldn’t the web site be responsible for paying ASCAP or BMI so the artist gets paid?”

Technically Speaking, I am not up for a music vs music piracy debate today, so don’t bother – if you don’t want to check out Sideload, then don’t. I just can see that everyone is checking out the AllOfMp3.com site articles I have posted recently.

Posted in AllOfMp3.com, mp3, Music, sideload, Technically Speaking | 1 Comment »

Swamii was suppose to be Yoda

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

Swamii, is a new search engine. Search engines are hot right now as everyone is trying to be the next Google. Yes, they wanted to be called Yoda.com – but that swamiiis suppose to be some freakish cat or something.  I think Yoda would have been a great name, but I wonder if George Lucas would have wanted a piece of the action? I relate all this search engine sites to one thing, and that is music.

My bud, Trashy Feelgood, up in Chicago is finding out, even though the big city is great, musicians are all the same. Up there, every band, musician he runs into wants to be “new metal”.  When I was in a band some years back, every band wanted to be the next Linkin Park! When I was in LA years ago, they all wanted to be the next Warrant, or Poison, or GnR. If you visit his site, you will hear that Trashy is original.

Back to Swamii now. With the above music comparison being written music vs web 2.0 – it’s all the same guys and gals. Let me simply state it this way, again using music as my example today. There is only ONE Linkin Park, ONE Poison, ONE Nirvana, ONE Staind, ONE Disturbed, etc.. etc.. etal. With that being said there is and will be only ONE Google, ONE Microsoft, ONE Yahoo, etc…

Technically Speaking, take your great programming skills, abilities, marketing skills and find that niche. It might be search, don’t get me wrong. I’m just hoping that Swamii will set itself far enough apart as well as the rest I’ve talked about recently, and finds that niche market that will keep them afloat. Just as every Poison, there was a Pretty Boy Floyd or Britany Fox would actually be a better example. If you are willing to accept that fact, then I give you a high five and keep rockin’!

Posted in Music, Search, Startups, swamii, Technically Speaking, Web 2.0 | Leave a Comment »

Planypus

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

planypusPlanypus, is a social planning site. I guess that is the term they use. One thing I do like, as they are startup just like Rex Dixon is. They are also hawking swag via the cafepress people. Could I have set myself up a better segue? Go buy some swag! It’s the holiday’s, just give it as a gift and buy a few extra items for the “unexpected guest gift” you forgot to buy. What do I mean “forgot to buy” and “unexpected guest gift“? Sometimes, Technically Speaking, I even surprise myself when I’m on a roll.

Posted in planypus, social planning site, Technically Speaking | 4 Comments »

Zoodango

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

zoodangoZoodango, are you looking for a very literal social networking site? More like ARE YOU looking for a Social Networking site? Why? I actually read this over here, and went there to check it out really quick — and it looks to be a Business Networking site? Technically Speaking, if you are looking for social networking give it a shot and join this one. It seems to cut to the chase.  If you are looking for Business Networking, wait a few months into 2007.  🙂

Posted in Social Networks, Technically Speaking, Zoodango | Leave a Comment »

Yahoo says they are not creating a library

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

Remember that movie I referenced the other day? When “Bill Gates” went in to visit “Steve Jobs” about the reality that Windows wasn’t copying the yahoo-googleMacintosh GUI. Yahoo has now stated the same thing to Google,No, really, listen guys we are not building a library.. here let me show you.” That so is deja vu if you saw the movie I am talking about!

Technically Speaking, as I said already – this is going to be FUN!

Posted in Google, pirates, Technically Speaking, Yahoo | Leave a Comment »

MySpace now features Google search

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

To be quite honest, I was on MySpace this morning, and I didn’t even notice. Or is it – I didn’t care? MySpace search pretty much sucks, so maybe Google being there will improve it? I can only hope so, as when my not so computer enthusiast other half says,”MySpace search f**king sucks!” — well Technically Speaking, it doesn’t take someone with a tech background to determine that – MySpace search sucks! 🙂

Posted in Google, MySpace, Rex Dixon, Search, Technically Speaking | 1 Comment »

Rupture

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

Rupture, is Shawn Fanning’s new company. Now THIS is the company that Rex Dixon talked with mid-summer about working at. It was not this one! I know that for sure now, as the guy I was conversing with told me it was ruptureShawn Fanning’s new start up.” What is Rupture? It’s coming soon, and it’s basically a World of Warcraft (GAME!!) company. Heather Green of BusinessWeek (third story down) has the full scoop, and GigaOm’s gaming guru James Au questions if Shawn is again in violation of the law. The “law” this time is the terms of use of Warcraft. Let’s not forget about Shawn’s Snocap adventure.

Technically Speaking, Shawn is an innovator who laughs in the face of the rulebook.  Only sometimes the rulebook can catch up with you, he has been very lucky so far.

Posted in Rupture, Shawn Fanning, Snocap, Startups, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

AllOfMp3.com **NOT** going ANYWHERE!

Posted by rexdixon on December 1, 2006

Unfortunately, I did miss this yesterday. AllOfMp3.com is fighting back, andallofmp3.com fighting hard to stay alive. John Kheit, an IP attorney for Chadbourne & Parke in New York, is representing AllofMP3, and he had one basic point to make in the wake of the trade agreement: AllofMP3 is legal, and it’s not going anywhere.

Technically Speaking, this should be fun to watch!

Posted in AllOfMp3.com, mp3, Music, Technically Speaking | 1 Comment »