Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for December 8th, 2006

CNET a trainwreck?

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

CNET, according to this article is stating that as early as next week the COO, Barry Briggs could be stepping down. Now of course none of this is totally unconfirmed and could be all wrong. Rumor control, like snopes, is needed these days for any tech company that is reported on in the pages out here.

Posted in CNET, rumor | Leave a Comment »

Hakia

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

Hakia, is an interesting search engine. Kind of like playing the magic 8 ball, but getting 3hakialogo.jpganswers for questions you ask. I gave it a spin, but nothing seemed to fit what I was looking for. I have said it over the past few days here, that search as well as video as well as ????? will be the hot thing in 2007. Search will be. I think I have done posts on a few of them already in the past month alone. Add Hakia to that.

Posted in 2007, Search | Leave a Comment »

Streampad

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

Streampad, lets you play your music collection from any computer. Very cool, but not a new concept. I personally use goowy which is a webtop, and you get so much more! It’s like you 3steampad_logo.gifstore your music and use their player, and you have e-mail, other files storage besides music, a calendar, etc.. etc… A complete system.

I am not knocking this service, Streampad, but I just wanted to let everyone know that goowy you also get to use it anywhere there is a browser but also get much more then just tunes. Technically Speaking, music is a great thing to have when you are somewhere your tunes are not.

Posted in Goowy, mp3, Music, streaming music, Streampad, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

Unfortunately

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

That is it for a long time again today! Please visit the sponsors on the right – yourminis.com as well as Mr. Business Golf.

Don’t forget to check out the advertisement options here. The page views are rolling in and numbers are going up daily. To maximize your ROI, you need to buy in now.

If you don’t like ads, then you have to like T-Shirts!

Oh and I almost forgot – the season finale (or 2006 Finale) 7 Minutes with Rex Dixon — I’m sure you have heard it already, but if not – go check that out.

Enough said, will be back later this evening after I’m sure the Friday smoke has cleared.

Posted in 7 Minutes with Rex Dixon, ads, advertising, Mr. Business Golf, Rex Dixon, yourminis.com | Leave a Comment »

CNBC on demand

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

They have over 15,000 videos ready. CNBC 3cnbc.jpggoes on demand. Nice.

Posted in CNBC, on demand, streamingvideo, video | 1 Comment »

schoolfizz

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

SchoolFizz, a Columbus, Ohio startup launches today. It could have been yesterday actually. It mixes Facebook and Digg all into one. Instead of digging, you are “fizzing“.3schoolfizz.PNG Sounds cool to me. Basically, not rewriting what is already there. It’s called something I advocate all the time. “Don’t reinvent the wheel, only improve it!” Sure there is room for the jet engine, and the rocket. It’s just that taking a jet or rocket to your place of work or leisure isn’t practical. We all still need “wheels”. Whether it’s a car or bicycle, wheels are a part of our everyday life.

Technically Speaking, so is the internet and web 2.0. Don’t reinvent it, just improve it and every now and again, let’s have a rocket or time machine or people living on the moon!

Posted in digg, Facebook, schoolfizz, social media content, Social Networks | 2 Comments »

TV playing both sides of the fence?

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

This could be a big possibility. Without saying anything else on it — Real Big. I’m going to have to totally agree with TC on this one. I think that all of us that are blogging or writing about tech these days have heard the same thing. TV is going to be in a big time change in 2007 and beyond. We already know that it’s going away, and I think that is only one time that I have said that and referred back to it.

Technically Speaking, the thing that really bites about not being able to post at will here is that I miss a ton that I have to get caught up. News on the internet travels at what?

Posted in streamingvideo, Technically Speaking, TiVo, TV, video | 2 Comments »

uPlayMe social music matching

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

uPlayMe, is a social network based around something that actually makes sense even when uplayme.PNGthe rest of the world is going crazy. That thing is music. I think this one has a pretty good chance. Their motto (and it should be if it isn’t!) as told by their leader David Fisherman,”uPlayMe encourages “people discovery through entertainment“.

Technically Speaking, if that isn’t a motto, then I guess I should go back to bed!

Posted in mp3, Music, social media content, Social Networks, Startups, Technically Speaking, uPlayMe, Web 2.0 | Leave a Comment »

Missed all the good stuff

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

Yesterday, as well as today, I won’t be around much. My ISP isn’t the best either, but apparantly Mashable was able to put all I missed in this nice concise quick hit article. Now I feel caught up for the day (yesterday). Technically Speaking, time to go to bed early!

Posted in bit torrent, BitTorrent, innertee, mycreative community, MySpace, pluggd, searchles, Startups, Technically Speaking, utorrent, Wallop, Web 2.0, You Tube, yourminis.com, YouTube, Zoodango | 2 Comments »

PikiPimp

Posted by rexdixon on December 8, 2006

PikiPimp, where you can be all the you that you want to be! Well I talked about Zwinky yesterday, oh btw – yes, I am back pikipimplogo.giffor a bit, will be gone again tomorrow — anyways — this site ROCKS. You get to play around with your own picture. Not some cartoon, but you.

Put it this way, I was getting ready to go grab another beer, and get ready to go to bed early and then I found this site. Yes, I sat there and played around on my picture for about 20 minutes!

You have such options as hair, jewelry, tattoos, etc.. etc… I added a bunch of tats to me, as Technically Speaking, don’t have any. It’s a fun site, and I encourage all of my readers to hit it and check it out – hey either go there or go here and buy a shirt!

Posted in Photo Manipulation, Photo Sites, PikiPimp, Technically Speaking, Web 2.0 | Leave a Comment »