Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for December 20th, 2006

blinkx

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

blinkx, I’ve more then likely mentioned them here before, but since my schedule has been rather busy lately, everything that was news today – has already been covered for the day. I was 6blinx.pngpoking around and ran across some information on blinkx. I remember them, either from reading about them on another site, or actually blogging here about them. No, I’m not going to look, as if it’s here, just search for it.

Now one place I did read about them today of course was right here. This new part of the OmNet as I term it, really covers the video angles well. I think that I’m going to have to keep checking in on blinkx. Even though they may never beat YouTube, I think they have an interesting video product. Who is going to beat YouTube? Who is going to make YouTube and others obsolete or so “yesterday“?

Technically Speaking, stay tuned to 2007, I think everyone is in for nice surprise.

Posted in 2007, blinx, Technically Speaking, videos, You Tube, YouTube | Leave a Comment »

Visto wins $7.7 million

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

Here is a nice little story that was buried today. Visto the owner of three patents concerning mobile e-mail has sued and won $7.7 million. This was originally done months earlier by a jury. In a U.S. District court, Judge T. John Ward of Texas, has ordered Seven Networks to pay the $7.7 million in damages.

Now when I said everyone “steals” something from someone else on the internet, the big guys take it one step too far I think. I don’t LITERALLY mean steal intellectual property. I mean come on guys, what kind of dork thieves are you? You are not suppose to LITERALLY steal! You borrow, you enhance, you shape and form it and make it your own.

If it is something you need to really have to make your product “go“, then you need to pay a little money in licensing fees, or buying the rights to use it. You do not just go and steal it. That is so very wrong on many terms that I can’t even think about how your parents would have treated this. Woodshed possibly if you are old enough? Leather strap across your backside perhaps? Yes, in many circles of society they say “child abuse”. It appears to be more part of parental neglect in the case of the people that authorized the stealing of the intellectual property of Visto.

This of course isn’t over yet, as Visto has also gone after companies such as RIM, Microsoft, and Good Technology Inc. The company Seven Networks also plans to go back to court in June. The original award of the jury trial, which the judge above upheld, was $3.6 million. That means – if you are wrong, pay the fine and do the time! The new judge tacked on interest and other fees. Do the math.

Technically Speaking, I don’t think too many companies out there today get it. Ethics, it’s a whole subject that should be gone over. No, I’m not teaching that class tonight.

Posted in Good Technology Inc., Microsoft, RIM, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

What Comments Are For

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

It is quite strange to me that all of sudden my blog is basically cut off from the rest of the world. No one seems to be answering my inquiries as to “Why?”. I figure instead of engaging in a conversation of disagreement, the people that be in power decided to just cut me off. No explanation what so ever.

Let me explain something. The comments area below any post of mine is where you can post your negative views on my views. Mainly, if you disagree with something I wrote, please go ahead and air your displeasure.

To just out of the blue cut me off, for no reason and no explanation just proves one thing and one thing only. Total lack of respect for others. Your lack of respect for other people is quite disturbing. You seem to think all it takes is cutting someone off to make them stop blogging the truth.

Well there is where you are wrong. The choice by the powers that be is to no longer link my blog. I am still blogging my opinions on the top stories of the day. One thing I ask, “Could you man up and at least e-mail me your point of view?” I mean if you can’t even “man up” in the comments, do I really expect a e-mail with an explanation any time soon?

Technically Speaking, I do not expect any reponse from the people that are in power. That is fine, just next time you disagree with something, the comments below are for you to air that out. That is why they are there. Comments – leave yours now if you wish to disagree with anything that I have written.  

Posted in Technically Speaking | 3 Comments »

Sam Sethi’s new venture

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

It’s called Vecosys and it will be tracking startups. It says specifically European starups, but I can bet there will be an American version aka VecosysUS or something. This should be interesting going into the new year. We all know why right? I wonder if there will be many loyalty shifts over the course of the next year?

Their latest article, is an interesting one about advertising and IPTV. The one before that has them talking about and asking the readers to interact on who they think will be acquired soon by showing who was in 2006.

Posted in blogging, Sam Sethi, Startups, Vecosys | Leave a Comment »

BBC goes file sharing

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

As it was announced yesterday, the BBC news finally has announced officially that they will be on Zudeo. How many of you remember when the p2p file sharing was borderline illegal and people bbc-reddwarf_42371009_000101253_dwarf_bbc203.jpgwanted to shut it all down? I’m glad no one closed that box. It’s something that can’t be done. The BBC realized it, as well as all the TV sites (companies) here in America. It’s basically “Get on the internet and have your content out there – to survive!”

Posted in Azureus, bit torrent, BitTorrent, p2p, Zudeo | Leave a Comment »

Pandora

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

Pandora. What a great name for a music site. Music sites seem to be the ticket this morning. 6pandoralogo.pngTurning them into social networks seem to be a great idea. I just wonder how many other sites will be soon coming in 2007 that combine music and social networking? It may be the hot ticket. At least this blogger thinks so.

Posted in mp3, Music, Pandora, Social Networks | Leave a Comment »

iLike $13.3 Million

Posted by rexdixon on December 20, 2006

It must be the holiday season. iLike a new concept in social networking that combines music as it’s main attraction has just completed a deal with TicketMaster that has them taking  in another $13.3 Million. I just checked out the site, and they are giving away a free iPod a day according to the first page. Ticketmaster will own a 25% share of the company.

I just signed up, it seems alright and with MySpace a big joke these days I may as join a network of people that like the same type of music. We will watch and see how this one goes, as $13.3 million can really help a new company out if used properly.

Posted in iLike, mp3, Music, musicians, social media content, Social Networks | Leave a Comment »