Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

If Social Media is DEAD …

Posted by rexdixon on December 30, 2006

Then I have wasted the past quarter of this year trying to build up my blog readers. I have wasted my time trying to build an audience. IF social media is dead, then why are there over 55 million blogs (according to Technorati at least)? IF social media is dead, how come John Edwards and his campaign team asked bloggers to join them on the road? Do you think John Edwards would have wasted his time by inviting Robert Scoble to join his team on the road IF social media is dead?

I believe that social media is growing, and will continue to do so. I also believe that being tagged in the first round for my opinion of the 2007 crystal ball show proves that I haven’t wasted my time. I also believe that being selected as one of the 32 bloggers to be included in BloggerMania I, even though a bit funny when I first saw it, proves that I haven’t been wasting my time.

Truthfully, the first time I blogged (and that blog is still around) was back in 2003. It’s my personal blog that I don’t advertise outside of friends and family. IF social media is dead, then how come other bloggers have come along since I launched my blog in 2003 and smoked right past me? They took the flame and ran with it. I thought at the time, “Okay, blogs are cool, but what can come of it; I’m looking for an IT gig?”

I was wrong back then, and I will have to say – social media is alive and well at the end of 2006. It will be just as strong and growing in 2007. Technically Speaking, I think the original article was written so that we social media types would have something to write about today and over the long holiday weekend. 🙂

UPDATE January 1, 2007http://rexduffdixon.comTechnically Speaking

New Feed URL: http://feeds.feedburner.com/rexduffdixon

4 Responses to “If Social Media is DEAD …”

  1. Yep, long live blogging.

  2. Eli Kernan said

    This website doesn’t show up appropriately on my iphone 3gs – you may want to try and fix that

  3. Социальные медиа очень активно влияют сегодня на общественное мнение. Даже в строительстве становятся очень важны отзывы живых людей о продукции компании.

  4. Даже при использовании алюминиевых панелей при строительстве зданий и то, в социалках встречаются отзывы по результатам строительства.

Leave a comment