Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Google and Yahoo both bow to IE7

Posted by rexdixon on December 11, 2006

Yes, some call it copying. Others just call it smart.

I think that Google wanted to run an ad, and ran with something simple. Something that Yahoo already tried and it worked. Why reinvent the wheel? I mean as a blogger, I write things on my own from time to time – when I have the time. Other times, I see something interesting like this and run with it.

Imitation is the biggest compliment to the original work. It shows that Google thought, why try to create something better when this works? It also shows that when you are just bowing down to the king, why not pay the tax and just be done with it?

If that was incoherent or you didn’t understand what I just said, please re-read it. Read with an outside the box mind. Read in between the lines. I don’t write for a 3rd grade class, and when I was in 3rd grade I was in one of those classes for gifted kids. I’m sorry if  sometimes I blog over your head, but what I am conveying to the blog reading audience is there. Just think for a minute and not consume.

Technically Speaking, I can’t hold your hand when you are reading my posts.

3 Responses to “Google and Yahoo both bow to IE7”

  1. […] Dixon thinks it’s smart to copy. I can see his point — developers are “inspired” by others all the time. But sheer copying? No. It’s unethical, for one. For two, ifbetter add some value. Hint: that means making sure your HTML and images are better than what you’re copying. Not worse. Filed under: blogging @ 9:37 pm# […]

  2. Simioni said

    Incredible. A controversial vision that brought me here. Is it a copy, too?

  3. […] There is another take on this. As Rex Dixon asserts: Imitation is the biggest compliment to the original work. It shows that Google thought, why try to create something better when this works? It also shows that when you are just bowing down to the king, why not pay the tax and just be done with it? […]

Leave a comment