Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

ATT Keeps the Internet Free

Posted by rexdixon on December 29, 2006

For another 48 months. At first I was happy to read that ATT and Bell South were going to finally settle in to merge. The FCC seemed happy, and ATT seemed to have made enough concessions. Even the writers over at TechDirt seemed happy, as well as everyone else that has followed this merger.

Well this morning, it appears that the TechDirt people did a little digging. It looks like the concessions that were made are really nothing more then fluff on top of your latte. In other words, it isn’t much at all.

The intriguing thing is that I was chatting with my bud over in NYC yesterday and it appears that Verizon is all FIBER where he lives (on LI). He was telling me that it ROCKS, that HD TV has such a sharp picture, the internet speed is lightning fast.

Technically Speaking, the FCC should have never let one of them merge after the big 1970’s break up. I think they should have just remained individual companies. Competition is what sparks innovation. Since I live in the middle of nowhere, it will be another 5-10 years before we see FIBER offered here!

Don’t forget to update your bookmarks – moving – January 1, 2007 – http://rexduffdixon.com – Technically Speaking’s new home.New Feed URL: http://feeds.feedburner.com/rexduffdixon

7 Responses to “ATT Keeps the Internet Free”

  1. Leif said

    I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  2. Lawanna said

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really
    realize what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my site =). We could have a link alternate contract between us

  3. JJ Usher said

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create
    your theme? Exceptional work!

  4. These are genuinely enormous ideas in concerning blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious factors here. Any
    way keep up wrinting.

  5. I know this site provides quality depending posts and extra data, is there
    any other site which gives these information in quality?

  6. Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve
    had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  7. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in
    accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and
    even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a comment