Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for November 25th, 2006

Iceflake

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

iceflakeIceflake, from the intro page (no, I didn’t join), this sounds like the Web 2.0 social network that I reviewed the other day called Spokeo. I guess we are going to be seeing a ton of these “do it all in one place” social networks.

Technically Speaking, VC’s start opening your checkbooks, because the race is on.

Posted in Iceflake, Spokeo, Startups, Technically Speaking, Web 2.0 | 1 Comment »

This is funny…

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

It is not Web 2.0, or anything about Google, MySpace, Yahoo, some new startup — just funny. Basically – a man escaped from prison, found his girlfriend 4 months pregnant, and called the police to come get him to take him back to prison!

Technically Speaking, and I thought I have had bad days!

Posted in Funny, Google, MySpace, Startups, Technically Speaking, Web 2.0 | 1 Comment »

Alexa is like a horoscope…

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

If this is the case, then why are they still in business? Technically Speaking, my Alexa rank isn’t great, but I guess that it doesn’t really matter does it? 🙂

Posted in Alexa, Technically Speaking, traffic stats | 2 Comments »

More Then 15% Carry 2 Cell Phones

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

Why? That is what the writer wants to know, and so does Rex Dixon. Unless it’s your personal one and one provided by your company, Technically Speaking – I’d really like to hear an answer from the 15%!

Posted in cell phones, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

Cingular Blackjack Commercial

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

As I sit here getting ready to pay for my new cell carrier that I switched to at the beginning cingular logoof the month – I’m now wondering why I didn’t just go with Cingular? This new phone called “Blackjack” and their accompanying commerical alone should convince you or anyone that is ready to change cell providers to go with their service.

Technically Speaking, I have to now call in (yes, one of the few places that do not have internet payment options) to my new cell carrier and pay the cell bill. Talk about sticker shock (when I received the bill)! Enjoy the above video. It makes me wish when I made the switch that I just went with Cingular. If someone that works for Cingular wants to pay my contract breaking fee to my new carrier – I’ll be glad to switch to your service!

Posted in Cingular, Technically Speaking | 2 Comments »

ReelTime – are they for real?

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

reeltime.tv logoReelTime.tv, is not the Seattle based ReelTime.com. They are going to launch a new service this coming week called “ReelTime DTO” (Download To Own) as the first legal download movie and burn to DVD service. According to what I am reading, they have some major issues right out of the box. It is suppose to be the first legal download and burn to DVD service, but after reading the article, I think there are too many caveats already in place to deter movie buffs from using the service.

Technically Speaking, it’s nice to see that the movie studios are realizing that their movies are being pirated anyways, but there needs to be some issues addressed. I almost forgot to mention the nice catch all —- the service above is ONLY available in Australia for starters!

Posted in DVD burning, Legal Movie Downloads, Movie to DVD, Reeltime.tv, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

Google settles with Belgians

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

GoogleIt’s called “show me the money“. There has been too many Tom Cruise references lately here in this blog, but hey – it is what it is! The NY Times today has the report that the settlement will continue to provide search content on Belgium news sites in a manner that will not infringe on the reporters and photographers copyrights. More like there was money put out that covered everyone nicely.

Technically Speaking, Google really needs to consider my other blog post I did on them yesterday. It’s time.

Posted in Google, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »

Another missed Google item

Posted by rexdixon on November 25, 2006

Google is being sued by a French movie studio for the free distribution of their film on the internet. Technically Speaking, I think Google can pay whatever fine they decide to hand down. Must be nice.

Posted in Google, Technically Speaking | Leave a Comment »