Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Archive for November 11th, 2006

Yepic (beta)

Posted by rexdixon on November 11, 2006

yepic beta logoYepic just launched in beta yesterday I believe. I’m a day behind on this one, but Saturday’s are a good day to find the “next” Google it seems. The regular places I find articles are pretty much taking it easy, posting if something big hits over the weekend, but usually not much is there.

That is when Rex Dixon relies on readers like YOU to give me the e-mail tips.

The company is about providing money to bloggers like myself, as well as the big guys such as Mike over at TechCrunch. I look at it as the beginning of Pay-Per-View. Remember when Pay-Per-View started? I do.

I for one loved to see live events, just by pressing a button on my remote — wait a minute — I had to actually back in those days call into the cable company on a land line phone call, press option “1″, then option “2″ and then I would have the TV un-scramble and I could now see the show. The infancy of Pay-Per-View - you could actually hack the signal, and you always had audio.

Since I am a Professional BlogCaster, I for one am going to keep a close eye on Yepic and see how it grows. Yes, folks, it will grow. Technically Speaking, if Pay-Per-View would have stayed the way it was back in 1988 or somewhere near that time when I first ordered my first one, it wouldn’t have survived.

Posted in Technically Speaking, Yepic | Leave a Comment »

Motorola buys Good!

Posted by rexdixon on November 11, 2006

As reported here, it appears that Motorola is trying to give it’s device the Motorola Q a fighting chance in the market dominated by the Blackberry. Good Technologygood technology logo is a Santa Clara wireless messaging company. The fact that RIM was just forced to pay out $612.5 million to NTP bodes well for Good as they have licensed technology from NTP.

Technically Speaking, Rex Dixon likes e-mail, chat, Skype, or phone contact. That is until one of these nice giving companies from above provides Rex Dixon with a Blackberry or Motorola Q for FREE! I would however prefer a Blackberry as my new mobile service supports it! I guess I should really need to start thinking of our group – so maybe you have a group deal – as in FREE for all of us!

Posted in Blackberry, Motorola, Motorola Q, NTP, RIM, Technically Speaking | 7 Comments »

Google’s PayPal Killer

Posted by rexdixon on November 11, 2006

Google Checkout logoGoogle Checkout as reported by Mike actually has me thinking. I know that Mike sees it as a PayPal killer, and says he has been watching it close. I do wish Google luck on getting this as the new standard by offering the waiving of transaction fees until the end of the year in order to attract merchants to use it. The thing I question though, is PayPal finally ready to be killed off? Why do I say this?

Rex Dixon use to be on Yahoo’s service which I thought was actually better then PayPal at the time. I had a personal go around with PayPal, so I am not at ALL supporting them. What I am saying though, is that you have to remember, the time I was enticed by Yahoo’s service (new back then), I was hoping for the same thing.

The point here? Yahoo’s stock was higher at the time then Google’s. Technically Speaking, I stand by my earlier prediction of the 18 month change of Google being dominate. I would rather then blindly jump on the Google bandwagon, I would rather continue to be on the lookout for the next Google. It may be there already, or it may still be in start up stages. Don’t get me wrong, I do like what Google has accomplished, but I tend to side on the side of history, history doesn’t lie.

Posted in Google, Google Checkout, PayPal, Technically Speaking, Yahoo | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.