Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

Web 2.0 going to Web 2.1 metadata

Posted by rexdixon on December 2, 2006

Metadata. The first time I heard that term was back in like 1997. I was working at the time as the Network Administrator, Oracle DBA, and all around PC hardware person. In other words, just like my resume, I was the jack of all trades (JOAT). Back to Metadata. We were installing a new ERP system at the time, and the system was based off of a metadata backend over Oracle with a 4th generation programming language called GEMBASE.

As the ERP system team was there, I said,”Okay, wtf is Metadata? Define it for me please?” The guy smiles and goes,”Well basically Metadata is data about data.” Nice. Thanks for using the same noun twice to describe something for me! In all truthfulness, that in a nutshell is what metadata is. Data about Data.

In this article, the person is basically stating that Web 2.0 is probably going to be Web 2.1 before it’s Web 3.0 as the NY Times thinks. Technically Speaking, I happen to have to agree with the writer.

Leave a Reply

 
