Technically Speaking

Rex Dixon – Professional BlogCaster

How To Record With Cool Edit Pro

Posted by rexdixon on September 9, 2006

Well I am in the process of attempting my first Podcast recording. I have always used Cool Edit Pro (v2.0) in the past for editing of .wav files and converting to mp3’s, but never have I used Cool Edit Pro to do the actual recording of the file.

I did read these steps somewhere on the internet, and I think a 19 step outline for those wanting to record with Cool Edit Pro is something that would be useful for all that want to have a really easy and direct how to guide. Let me say, that I have used Cool Edit Pro on the editing functions before, but until last evening NEVER as my main recording place.

Here below is a basic how to guide.:

1. Open up a new cool edit session. Make sure you are looking at the single track view. In the upper left corner there is like a button that looks like “wav file” under the “File” menu. When you click it, you can switch between multi track view and single track view.

2. Make sure you see only ONE track view, and not like 4 on there.

3. Hit the record button, which is obviously the red dot button (commonly known) in the lower left corner of operating buttons. Let the tape preroll (recording) run a blank spot for like 10-20 seconds if possible.

4. Start your recording/speak into your mic. When done hit the stop button, in the menu of buttons in the lower left corner.

5. Take your mouse, click once in the middle gray bold line that separates your left/right channel. This will but a yellow dotted line there, hold and drag to the left and highlight your tape preroll blank section. This should highlight the whole area (left/right channels) white.

6. Click->Effects->Noise Reduction->Noise Reduction

7. Click -> the button “Get Profile from Selection” – this is located on the right side, on the Noise Reduction screen which pops up after step #6 above.

8. Click “Ok” (lower right)

9. Take your mouse now and double click in the middle gray line that separates the left/right channel to make sure the whole file is highlighted.

10. Repeat step #6

11. This time DO NOT click or do #7.

12. NOW just go to step #8

13. Now highlight the blank section in the beginning and hit your delete key. Do the same for the blank section after the recording is done.

If you are creating mp3’s, keep reading. If not or just wanted to get a tip on how to record and use the noise reduction, you can skip the next 6 steps below.

14. NOW - Click – File -> Save As

15. IN that screen make sure the “save as type” says mp3PRO (FhG) (*.mp3)

16. Fill in the name of the file where it says “File Name” ie… MY-recording

17. Click on options button – make sure that says or has checked off CBR (constant bit rate) and the one to the right of that says MP3. There should be radio buttons selected on both of these, just make sure it is.

18. In the pulldown under that make sure it says 256Kbps, 32000 hz, Stereo (5:5:1) – click “Ok” button on the right.

19. Click “Save” button. You may get a pop up screen if you haven’t done this before that is a warning about mp3’s being a lossy format, etc. You can disable that screen with that check box in the lower left to never tell you again about mp3 files being a lossy format. I think anyone that creates mp3’s knows this already!

That’s it! Simple right? Now you have just created a 256k mp3 file. As most people know the human ear can’t tell the difference after 192k from an actual .wav file or mp3. If you have the capability to do so, 256k is just nice to do.

This file should be more then good enough to do further editing, sequencing, etc. I personally use Sonar to do my sequencing, and in the past used it to record everything I ever have recorded on my own. Just obviously import the file into whatever sequencer you are comfortable with.

That is my quick how to tips for recording in Cool Edit Pro. I do believe I will start recording things in there now more often. Now I know the reason why some musician’s swear by it to do ALL their recordings, and sequencing there. That is something I may try the next time I go to record a song, maybe do the whole thing in there, and use the multitrack feature!

In the past, all I have ever really used Cool Edit Pro was for AFTER the .wav file was done. In other words post production stuff. Recording with it is so simple, that you can I believe create at the very least some great Podcasts with it; at least Technically Speaking.

53 Responses to “How To Record With Cool Edit Pro”

  1. test2 said

    great site.

  2. Rex,

    I had something weird happen today: I attempted to record a guitar track into CE Pro v2.0…and on playback, the pitch was down by about a semi-tone. I tried it several times…on different tracks with same results. I’ve been using this app for four years and this is the first time this has happened.

    BTW, I opened a .mp3 and it played back perfectly. Any idea what’s up?

    Regards,
    James

  3. Molon_Labe said

    Hey,

    I’m new to the whole bit and i was wondering if you could let me know how to set up a set up with cool edit pro. I’ve got mics, cables, and an MBox…I’m just not sure how to connect the dots and get the software to recognize the mic and/or midi interface.

    Thanks!

  4. chuckie said

    bro every time i record on a track it automaticly mixs all previouse tracks together so track 2 contains tracks 1 and 2 track 3 contains tracks 1 2 and 3 and so on
    any advice ? pc based cool edit pro CHEERS

  5. chuckie said

    and i gave ya the wrong e mail
    hit me up on this one ae
    too nice

  6. txh for music)))

  7. Rebter said

    Thank you very very very very much man really helped out with the recordings, before i had my head smashed against the wall 99999999 times cause i couldnt figure out how to reduce sound. all works PERFECT now styll.
    thanks again!

  8. проходя мимо, как говится, проходи, а я вот не прошел, а надо было… А вот жизнь берет свое

  9. Phillip said

    I have a question. I have not used CEP for several years. I used to record from the line in on my computer all the time.

    I have just tried to do it again and I cannot figure out what is wrong. The sound comes through on my computer but CE does not record anything. The audio lines (squiggly lines that show sound, not sure what they are called) do not even show up when the sound is coming through on the line in.

    What am I doing wrong?

  10. Уважаемый, связался с вами по поводу дизайна. Где и как его можно взять?

  11. Егор said

    Прислал всем ссылку на работе. Сидим, обсуждаем.

  12. Фриц said

    Тема не раскрыта полностью, но мысль интересная. Пошел гуглить.

  13. SeGaH said

    eyw;)bilader

  14. Oqrbafyi said

    hi3JZe comment4 ,

  15. Indy said

    I’m having the same problem as Phillip.

    “The sound comes through on my computer but CE does not record anything. The audio lines (squiggly lines that show sound, not sure what they are called) do not even show up when the sound is coming through on the line in.
    What am I doing wrong?”

    It’s drinving me crazy trying to figure it out!!

    • jag said

      i have same problem which i didnt have with XP, after switching to Vista, i couldn’t record direct from sound i recieve from the internet. Please advise, if you know it, thx

  16. eric said

    eny tips on how to play the beat and record at the same time? for cool recording edit pro 7.0 ive used this program before and this has never happend,,.

  17. rrrrr said

    fdhgfffffffffffffffffffffffff

  18. Davius said

    @ Phillip & Indy

    in order to record an actual sound u need to make sure CEP recognises your equipment. to do so, go to “Options > Device order” and make sure you add your equipment to the right box so CEP knows thats the equipment you wanna work with. if you did this, it should work fine.

    • Ken said

      I did the device order thing and I have levels at the bottom of the screen, so CEP is getting something, but nothing shows up in the edit screen so there is nothing to edit but several minutes of blank space.

      • Ken said

        By accident, I learned the solution to the problem: the input jack was TOO FAR in. If I have it in most of the way instead of all of the way, I get a recording. I worry that a vibration or jostle during a recording will knock it out, but for now it works. What a stupid and unreliable solution!

  19. Alex said

    I had cool edit pro recording just fine until I tried to download antares autotune. When I installled autotune it only had a PDF file showing a handbook inside only. I have no idea where the program actually went. I tried to uninstall but it was still on my pc so I remove the rest of it , I think manually. Now when I have an instrumental on track 1 then try and record on track 2, it records track 1 onto track two along with a scracthy vocal and the music from track 1. Why are the tracks mixing themselves? Even when I unplug my mic it still records the sound from track one on track two….HELP ME PLEASE!!!

  20. luis said

    Tengo cool edit 2 kiero saber como se llama el cable que debo conectar de la casettera a la pc para que pase el sonido

  21. hanky p said

    Yeah who can tell me how to use cep to record I’m new too it like adding tracks I use a soundcraft track board alesis monitors but I see the recordin but no sound from the beat tell me something I’m a rapper need help

  22. German said

    Mate, i tried to record. I have a condensor mic, mic stand, pop filter, M-Audio Box, headphones and all the connections to it. So now i have all my equipment set up. I place an instrumental on “Track 1″ and click the “R” button on “Track 2″. After im done doing that, i click on the “Record” button thats red on the bottom left corner. But the problem is, “Track 2″ does not show the vocals playing, but i can hear myself on the microphone clearly. I dont know what the problem is! :/
    I have to record music A.S.A.P!

  23. DJAE said

    Like it is useful like, but like, i was like wondering like, why like someone so clearly like intelligent, like runs out of like words and stuff and like use the word like so much.

    DONT WRITE THE WAY YOU SPEAK… It doesn’t sound the same in other people’s head!

  24. modest said

    hi guys
    have try it but when i record,recording track 1 and 2 keep recording 2gether pls help, i keep earing the first and second in track 2 pls & pls help email me on luvmodest@yahool.co.uk thanks

  25. modest said

    please help

  26. Adobe For Mac…

    [...]How To Record With Cool Edit Pro « Technically Speaking[...]…

  27. tlwaelo phetogo said

    hw do i save aftr i record caz whn i try to save the recording it tels mi to purcharce first………………

  28. Jagger said

    trying to record off my internet audio feed or any audio from online what settings do I need to change

  29. download full length movies from website…

    [...]How To Record With Cool Edit Pro « Technically Speaking[...]…

  30. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  31. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  32. These are actually impressive ideas in about blogging.

    You have touched some good factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  33. It seems u truly fully understand a great deal with regards
    to this specific subject and that exhibits thru this particular blog, titled “How
    To Record With Cool Edit Pro Technically Speaking”. Thanks -Sheryl

  34. When someone writes an article he/she retains the plan of
    a user in his/her mind that how a user can know it.
    So that’s why this article is great. Thanks!

  35. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

  36. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme
    in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done an impressive job and our entire community will
    be grateful to you.

  37. Actually astounded with your type of authoring in actual fact, something tells me you may be a professional!

  38. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    help from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

  39. Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the other person’s website link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same in support of you.

  40. Hey I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyways I am
    here now and would just like to say many thanks for a
    incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at
    the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

  41. Basically, everywhere where there are lots of people or items that need to be cooled can benefit from one of the portable
    air conditioning units available. Here are 10 easy steps you can take to
    lower your exposure to tree pollen and other spring
    allergens, and keep allergy symptoms under control. One popular
    bathroom fixture today that many interior decorators and home owners use is a shower
    bath.

  42. Maryellen said

    Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this website to obtain newest updates, so where can
    i do it please assist.

  43. krystle said

    May I just say what a comfort to uncover somebody who actually knows what they are talking about over the internet.

    You definitely understand how to bring a
    problem to light and make it important. A lot more people have to read this and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you are not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  44. Great items from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff prior to and you are simply too fantastic. I really like what you have acquired right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way through which
    you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep
    it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    That is really a terrific site.

  45. Frederic said

    Hello, for all time i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in the morning, because i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  46. Maik said

    6ltr engines would be the most popular in Ireland in the time writing this article.
    With worries of in the event the government’s stimulus package will need effect more and more people are wondering when in case they need more life insurance. Every state will have their very own requirements in terms of the difference between separated and divorced insured’s.

  47. Florian said

    Hello, yup this piece of writing is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging. thanks.

  48. jt said

    my cool edit starts all the way from the beginning everytime I record how can I change this to where I can record in the middle of the track or wherever I gotta listen to the song all the way through to record my third verse

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

